top of page

Book Review: The long Way to a Small, Angry Planet (2014) Beck Chambers

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet (2014)

Becky Chambers

I lucked into this great book at my local library. Rosemary Harper is a rich girl trying to escape from a family scandal. She ends up part of the crew of the Wayfayer. The ship creates “Tunnels” wormholes in space. Their pilot is a sexy reptile Sissix, their engineers are two crazy humans – Jenks and Kizzy. Their doctor is also the chef (Doctor Chef). He is also one of 300 remaining examples of his soon to be extinct species. Corbin takes care of their algae supply. Lovey is their AI that keeps them out of trouble. Their navigator is a pair of Ohan who have their abilities thanks to an infection that shortens their lives. Captain Ashby holds it all together.

I love this book and can’t wait to grab the next one in this series. Becky Chambers develops the characters and their friends (Kizzy’s friend Bear and the captains alien girlfriend Pei) so that you want to see them in their next adventure. I don’t rate books numerically as I think it is stupid. A one for me might be a five for you. This IS one of my top books in the past few years.

bottom of page